Guest reviews

The following guest reviews have been taken from the guest book at Honeykiln Cottage, a self catering holiday cottage in the Yorkshire Dales. New reviews are added regularly and we would like to take this opportunity to thank everyone for their kind words.



The Versluis Family, Netherlands
August 2016

What a lovely, clean, comfortable cottage this is!
We really enjoyed our stay, everything was well organised and we really felt at home.
Thank you so much for a wonderful stay.



The Davis Family, Burgess Hill
June 2016

Had a lovely time, Cottage lovely and quiet
Can recomend Aysgarth Falls and Flamborough Head, if you like sea birds.



The Hall Family, Leeds
May 2016

Once again had a lovely stay for our third time.
Cottage lovely and clean.
Thank you



The Parker Family, Mablethorpe
May 2016

Had a lovely few days on our second visit here
We went into Middleham Castle, Hawes and Ripon, not forgetting the lovely shops in Bedale.
The cottage is very clean and conmfortable and has everything you need.



The Thornber Family, New Zealand
May 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Honeykiln Cottage.
Very comfortable and cosy



The Denton Family

May - June 2015

Much enjoyed this lovely comformtable cottage, in a lovely quite location
Cover Bridge Inn was our favourite eating place.
We loved Honeykiln Cottage



The Hall Family, Leeds
May 2015

Had a lovely stay for the second time, pity the weather was not too good but still enjoyed ourselves.



Mabel (aged 5)
4th - 11th April 2014

We had lots of fun at the forbidden corner. I liked the waterfalls. It nearly scared me.



Elizabeth
February 2015

A lovely relaxing few days. Really appreciated the peace and quiet and loved the open fire.



24th - 27th October 2014

A lovely cosy clean cottage you have Ann, my daughter and granddaughter and I really have enjoyed our stay. We did two walks from your books which we really enjoyed.



Rob, Georgina, Evelyn & William
22nd - 25th August 2014

Lovely cottage - especially enjoyed the fire! Would recommend the Cover Bridge Inn for food there - decent ale a bit sparse in Middleham.



Kathy and Tony, Leics
22nd - 30th July 2014

Lovely holiday. Weather great. Cottage in great location. Very comfortable.



Michelle and Roger, Cleethorpes, North Lincs
7th June - 14th June 2014

Had a great weekend here in the Dales. The cottage is lovely and comfortable - a real home from home. The weather has been amazing. We've been to Fountains Abbet, Hawes, Aysgarth, West Burton, Jervaulx Abbery, Bolton Castle, Masham and all the breweries. Tried all the pubs and the Chinese in the village - all excellent! Thank you!!



Janet Waller, Luton, Beford
24th May - 31st May 2014

Thank you once again for a wonderful holiday in this lovely cottage. This has been our fifth visit and as ever the cottage has been a real home from home. We've enjoyed visiting lots of our favourite places such as Aysgarth, Masham and Fountains Abbey, but we've also explored new ones this year! The Himalayan gardens were beautiful and we went through the Stean Gorge and the White Scar caves, found the rock garden in Aysgarth and many new waterfalls. We can never fit everything into our week here in the beautiful Yorkshire Dales... So I guess we will just have to keep coming back



Elisha Waller, Luton, Beford
24th May - 31st May 2014

Yorkshire is a beautiful place and love coming back every year! This year we've been to new places and my favourite must be the Stean Gorge and the Shawl in Leyburn. Leyburn is a great place and has many unique shops and restaurants - my favourite is the Black Swan. In Yorkshire you don't even need a plan: you can just drive aimlessly and find Yorkshire in great places with amazing views.



Amy, Craggy and Larra
29th September 2012

What a lovely time had in Yorkshire. Honeykiln Cottage was suitably homely, cosy and just what we had imagined. Had some great days out, a hairy but beautiful drive over the dales and over indulged in the Creamery. Enjoyed the local pubs and locals who were charming and accommodating. Thank you it was an absolute pleasure.



Rosalien and Martyn, Vorden
September 2012

We enjoyed our stay in this cosy clean cottage. We came to see James Herriots country, but saw a lot more. It was just so beautiful.



The Rivers Family, Sheffield
30th August - 1st September 2012

Lovely cottage and location. Loved the real fire; especially as it was laid for us! We went to the castle and Forbidden Corner - which we loved.



The Smith Family
August 2012

Had a great week, lots of exploring. It is a great cottage and good to use as a base. We hope to come back!



Jaqui and Nigel, Cheltenham
28th July - 4th August 2012

Thank you for a very happy week in a very comfortable, clean and cosy cottage. We have stayed in Middleham previously but the cottage we had wasn't a par on cosy Honeykiln. Well equipped and much appreciated touches; thank you for your thoughtfulness. A beautiful part of the countryside and we hope to return as soon as possible to Honeykiln.



Janet Waller, Luton, Bedfordhsire
7th - 14th April 2012

Have enjoyed visiting Honeykiln again - this is our third stay and it always feels like a home from home. Its wonderful to visit lots of favourite places in the area, especially Aysgarth Falls, Brimham Rocks, Fountains Abbey and Masham. Lovely meals in the White Swan and the Black Swan in Leyburn. The week has gone so quickly, already looking forward to our next visit.



Elisha Waller, aged 11, Luton, Bedfordhsire
7th - 14th April 2012

Had a great 3rd time in the cottage! We went on 4 Easter egg hunts! On Easter Sunday at Fountains Abbey, on Monday at Richmond Castle, Tuesday a crystal egg hunt at Stump Cross Cavens(!) and on Thursday at old Mother Shiptons Cave. It was really great, everyone should go to these places. A few days this week have been cold so we have lit the lovely, cosy fire and told stories!



Aimee de Hamel, aged 12, from Howden, East Yorkshire
1st - 7th April 2012

Hello again I am here! This is my 6th time here. I have been up in the town and seen the racehorses walk through the town, and I have been up on the Low Moor to see them gallop up the gallops. I have been here for Good Friday and seen the racehorses in their stables. I love this cottage so we are coming back again!



The Heide Family, Lindau, Germany
1st - 7th January 2012

We had a very nice time here and are sure to come back in the near future! The house is so nice and cosy! Thank you!



Caroline and Peggy Clay, Nottingham
3rd - 8th September 2011

"A superb cottage, one of the cleanest we have ever been in. Fully equipped, and nice to have some decent cooking saucepans. Weather lovely on Sunday in Hawes, and not bad the other days. We have thoroughly enjoyed our stay."



Celia, Richard & Emma Faulkner, Locks Heath, Hampshire
6th - 13th August 2011

"What a pleasure it has been to stay in your lovely cottage. You have thought of everything we could possibly need, truly a 'home from home'! Despite the mainly wet weather we have been out visiting new places, and re-visiting familiar ones, and would love to come back again next summer.



Mary and Simon, North Hampshire
23rd - 30th July 2011

"Had a really lovely week in the Dales. The cottage is well situated and very comfortable. We enjoyed mountain biking in Fremington (near Reeth), walking and even some kayaking. The pubs in Middleham are very nice - recommend the Black Swan, and dinner at the White Swan was very super. Thank you for a very pleasant stay."



Chris and Joe Gartland, Wirral, Cheshire
25th June - 9th July 2011

"Very pleasant two weeks - cottage clean and comfortable and all services provided. Glorious weather - the Dales at their best. Going home at least a stone heavier after all those delicious cream teas and Brymor Ice Cream. Our grandchildren joined us for the weekend and fell in love with the Forbidden Corner (and Brymor!). We've seen spectacular scenery, met friendly people, eaten good food (and beer!) and had a good holiday."



Lesley and David Port, Canterbury, Kent
9th - 16th April 2011

"First visit to the cottage, everything provided. A real home from home. As always the Dales are beautiful, never seen so many lambs. Weather was very good, not a single raindrop. Thank you, will come again."



Michael and Helen Armstrong, Whitley bay, Tyne & Wear
3th - 17th October 2010

"Back again! It was lovely to see Wensleydale in the Autumn. Looked as beautiful as it did in the summer, but the Autumn colours made it very special. We also loved having a real fire at this time of year. Thank you, this cottage has provided everything we wanted for a short and very relaxing break."



Patrick and Kathleen Thompson, North Norfolk
2nd - 9th October 2010

"Our second visit this year. Once again a very enjoyable stay. We have been lucky with the weather. We have explored Swaledale and Nidderdale. So many good places to eat out or in Middleham. Many thanks."



June Brown and Pat Allington, West Midlands
11th - 18th September 2010

"Two girlfriends have had a lovely week in your beautiful cottage. Impressed by the cleanliness and all the equipment which has made our stay excellent. June knows the Yorkshire area and Pat has fallen in love with it. Hope to come back soon and will recommend your lovely cottage to friends and family."



Jeff Mein
6th - 10th September 2010

"Warm, comfortable, clean and well equipped. Exactly what I was looking for. Hope to return soon."



Michael and Helen Armstrong, Whitley bay, Tyne & Wear
24th July - 31st July 2010

"Lovely cottage, very cosy, really quiet area. Have never stayed in such a clean place. We loved the garden, very pretty and in a very sheltered spot."



Edna and Dave Grimmett
26th June - 3rd July 2010

"After several years - the best cottage of all. Have enjoyed our stay in Yorkshire and hope to come again some time."



Ralph and Margaret Lovey, Harthill, S. Yorks
21st - 26th June 2010

"A wonderful cottage in which to relax! And to explore the area. Beautifully appointed and immaculate, also a fragrant garden to enjoy. The weather has been hot and sunny, and we have been most comfortable - thank you very much."



Hilary and George Mackey, Co Down, Northern Ireland
22nd - 24th May 2010

"Very clean and comfortable cottage and well equipped for our needs. Great base for exploring the dales."



Amiee De Hame, (aged 10)
27th March - 4th April 2010

"I like coming to the cottage because it is nice and cosy. I like walking in the town with my Grandad to fetch the newspaper and seeing the horses. I like going to the moor to see the horses going up. Also, this year Good Friday was good because it was nice weather. I am am already planning my next trip here. So we are coming back next year."



Barbara and Peter Bembridge, Howden, East Yorks
27th March - 4th April 2010

"Our fourth visit to the cottage. It feels like our second home now! Nice to come back to Middleham. Love the town."



Maria and Jean Claude. Rheims, France
19th September - 26th September 2009

"Loved our holiday and the Dales. What can I say about the cottage it has all been said. Felt at home straight away and appreciated the thoughtful extras; fire laid, fresh milk, biscuits flowers etc. Thank you."



Geoff, Marilyn and Nicholas
12th September - 19th September 2009

"Good quality contents, fittings, fixtures and equipment and comfortable. We particularly liked the tea and biscuits after a long journey. Best food is the Brasserie; best local shops Leyburn. Good local walks, excellent food, books and maps - very informative."



Louisa Boad (aged 6)
22nd August - 29th August 2009

"My first favourite was Lightwater Vallei(sic)
My second favourite was Forbidden Corner.
Mummy's favourite was Brymor icecream factory.
We also enjoyed the visit to the teapot factory.
We had a lovely holiday - a great base for walks and lots to see.
PS My third Favourite was the pony ride."



Val and Bob Adams
12th June - 19th June 2009

"Many thanks for the lovely cottage; most welcome touch of biscuits and tea tray/plant. Superb selection of leaflets, books etc; most informative. Cottage very well maintained and clean. Very impressed with Middleham and surrounding countryside."



The Heide Family
>4th June - 11th June 2009

"Thank you very much for the lovely, cosy, clean friendly cottage. The flowers and biscuits were a nice idea. We will come again."



Diane and Dave Mabbley
20th October to 25th October 2008

"Very comfortable stay, weather much better than we expected. Visited some lovely places. Had a wonderful stay. Hope to come again! Cosy cottage to come back to after a lovely day sightseeing."



Mr and Mrs K Booth
14th October to 21st October 2008

"Just a note to say thanks for the use of your cottage at such short notice. Enjoyed it very much. Clean and peaceful, hope everything was left ok."



Sue and Ken McGowan
E
23rd August to 23rd August 2008

"The cottage is delightful - well appointed, well cared for and maintained, and obviously well loved by all who pass through its door, including us. Middleham is an excellent place location for exploring the Dales. Hope to come again, thank you."



Martin, Ida and Frank Roomins
19th July to 2nd August 2008

"We had two superb weeks in this comfortable, well equipped cottage. And SO clean. What a surprise to find fresh flowers and "tea almost ready" when we arrived. A real welcome. We felt at home right away. The Yorkshire Dales are a real walking paradise for us and we made a lot of them. Again thanks for everything. We hope to back someday."



Una and Graham Odell
19th July to 2nd August 2008

"A very enjoyable time is a clean and comfortable cottage, the beautifully kept garden was lovely to relax in! Thank you."



Mr and Mrs Noblett
28th January to 3rd February 2008

"We really enjoyed staying in the cottage, cosy and warm as it needed to be in this windy and snowy week. The cottage had everything we needed and we thoroughly enjoyed sitting in front of the open fire."



Mr and Mrs Snusher
26th May to 2nd July 2007

"We were very pleased with our first stay in this delightful cottage. Everything was perfect and made our hoilday more enjoyable and certainly would like to go again in the future. Many thanks."



Mr P. and Mrs B. Bembridge
31st March to 7th April 2007

quot;Clean, cosy cottage and fantastic weather all week. Really enjoyed seeing the horses on the moors. Enjoyed the town. A enjoyable, relaxing holiday"